AMA salutes its remarkable honorees

September 20, 2018

The Alberta Medical Association is proud to salute these extraordinary Albertans as they are honoured with the most prestigious awards bestowed by the AMA and the Canadian Medical Association.

Our remarkable honourees

AMA Medal for Distinguished Service for outstanding personal contributions to the medical profession and to Albertans that have contributed to the art and science of medicine and raised the standards of medical practice:

  • Dr. Norman M. Kneteman Edmonton
  • Dr. John B. Kortbeek Calgary
  • Dr. Harvey R. Rabin Calgary

AMA Medal of Honour for outstanding personal contributions by a non-physician to Albertans that have contributed to the advancement of medical research/education, health care organization, health education and/or health promotion to the public:

  • Carol E. Cass, PhD Edmonton
  • The Price Family (Chad, Dave, Isabelle, Joanna, Matt, Teri) Acme

AMA Award for Compassionate Service for serving as an inspiration to others with outstanding compassion, dedication and extraordinary contributions to volunteer or philanthropic efforts to improve the state of the community:

  • Dr. Bonnie R. Larson Calgary

CMA Award for Young Leaders (Early Career) for exemplary dedication, commitment and leadership in clinical, political, education, research and/or community service:

  • Dr. Cara A. Bablitz Edmonton

CMA Owen Adams Award of Honour for excellence in service to the profession in the field of medical organization:

  • Michael A. Gormley Edmonton
The AMA awards will be presented at its Representative Forum/Annual General Meeting September 21–22 in Calgary. The CMA awards were presented at its 151st Annual Meeting and Health Summit/General Council August 19–22 in Winnipeg.

The AMA advances patient-centered, quality care by advocating for and supporting physician leadership and wellness.