AMA salutes nine remarkable honorees

September 14, 2017

The Alberta Medical Association is proud to salute nine Albertans – seven physicians, one non-physician and one medical student – as they are honored with the most prestigious awards bestowed by the AMA and the Canadian Medical Association.

Our Remarkable Honorees

AMA Medal for Distinguished Service for outstanding personal contributions to the medical profession and to Albertans who have contributed to the art and science of medicine and raised the standards of medical practice:

  • Dr. Gary A.J. Gelfand Calgary
  • Dr. David S. Gray Edmonton
  • Dr. Nairne W. Scott-Douglas Calgary

AMA Medal of Honor for extraordinary contributions by a non-physician to Albertans in medical/health research or education, health care organization or promotion:

  • Sangita (Gita) Sharma, PhD Edmonton

AMA Award for Compassionate Service for serving as an inspiration to others with outstanding compassion, dedication and extraordinary contributions to volunteer or philanthropic efforts to improve the state of the community:

  • Dr. Moosa Khalil Calgary
  • Dr. Daniel M. Li Edmonton

CMA Award for Young Leaders (Student and Resident Categories) for exemplary dedication, commitment and leadership in clinical, political, education, research and/or community service:

  • Student Category
    Simei (Amy) Li Calgary
  • Resident Category
    Dr. Aravind Ganesh Calgary

CMA Dr. William Marsden Award in Medical Ethics for outstanding leadership, commitment and dedication to promoting and advancing excellence in medical ethics:

  • Dr. James L. Silvius Calgary

The AMA awards are to be presented at its Representative Forum and Annual General Meeting September 15-16 in Edmonton. The CMA awards were presented at its 150th Annual Meeting and General Council August 20-23 in Quebec City.

The AMA advances patient-centered, quality care by advocating for and supporting physician leadership and wellness.