AMA salutes its remarkable honorees

September 30, 2019

The Alberta Medical Association is proud to salute these extraordinary Albertans as they are honored with the most prestigious awards bestowed by the AMA and the Canadian Medical Association.

Our remarkable honorees

AMA Medal for Distinguished Service for outstanding personal contributions to the medical profession and to Albertans that have contributed to the art and science of medicine and raised the standards of medical practice:

  • Dr. Michael Bullard
  • Dr. David Hogan
  • Dr. Frances Harley

AMA Medal of Honor for outstanding personal contributions by a non-physician to Albertans that have contributed to the advancement of medical research/education, health care organization, health education and/or health promotion to the public:

  • Mr. Harold James
  • Ms Brenda Reynolds

AMA Award for Compassionate Service for serving as an inspiration to others with outstanding compassion, dedication and extraordinary contributions to volunteer or philanthropic efforts to improve the state of the community:

  • Dr. Vincent Agyapong
  • Dr. Debra Isaac

The Sir Charles Tupper Award for Political Advocacy is presented to a CMA member who has demonstrated recent leadership, commitment and dedication in advancing CMA goals and policies through grassroots advocacy.

  • Dr. Alika Lafontaine

The AMA awards were presented at its Representative Forum/Annual General Meeting September 27–28 in Edmonton. The CMA awards were presented at its 152nd Annual Meeting and Health Summit/General Council August 11–13 in Toronto.

The AMA advances patient-centered, quality care by advocating for and supporting physician leadership and wellness.