AMA President-Elect - This is the call for nominations

MD Scope - April 6, 2017

The Call for Nominations period for the 2017-18 president-elect is open. Nominations are due by 9 a.m., Thursday, May 11. Details are available here.

If additional candidates come forward, an election will be held. If no further candidates come forward, then the nominee of the Nominating Committee will be acclaimed.

The 2017-18 president-elect term begins September 16 at the adjournment of the AMA’s representative forum in Edmonton, when the current president-elect Dr. Neil D.J. Cooper becomes president.

The AMA Constitution and Bylaws tasks the AMA’s Nominating Committee to identify one nominee for the position of president-elect, but other candidates may also come forward from the general membership.

For information of the membership

The nominee from the Nominating Committee is Dr. Alison Clarke, a family physician from Strathmore Alberta. Dr. Clarke has been in practice for more than 20 years. She has a lengthy history with the AMA, having served on the Board of Directors, the Representative Forum, Nominating and other committees. Locally, her leadership roles include that of physician lead, and currently medical director, of the Calgary Rural Primary Care Network, president of the Rural Medical Staff Association, and chief of staff of Strathmore District Health Services.

The Nominating Committee considers a variety of factors when selecting the president-elect nominee to ensure an appropriate mix of representation from year to year in specialty, practice location and gender, as well as demonstrated experience and abilities.

The Alberta Medical Association stands as an advocate for its physician members, providing leadership & support for their role in the provision of quality health care.