Dr. Marnie Hinton Resident Award for Physician Wellness

PFSP/Bennett JonesThe Dr. Marnie Hinton Award for Resident Physician Health is presented annually to medical residents who have demonstrated an interest in physician health.

The award is jointly sponsored by the Alberta Medical Association’s Physician and Family Support Program with special thanks to Bennett Jones LLP for their generous contribution, .


  • University of Alberta: To be awarded to a resident physician currently enrolled in a postgraduate medical education program at the University of Alberta who has demonstrated an interest in physician health through a project or initiative. Residents are welcome to apply for the award; please contact the U of A Office of Advocacy & Wellbeing for more information.
  • University of Calgary: To be awarded annually to two resident physicians in satisfactory academic standing who have demonstrated significant contributions to the advancement of physician wellness .To receive this award, residents must be nominated by a Cumming School of Medicine program director or faculty member. Please submit letters of nominations to Dr. Jaelene Mannerfeldt, Director of Resident Affairs and Physician Wellness (residentwellness@ucalgary.ca). Please contact the U of C Office of Resident Affairs and Physician Wellness for more information.


Three awards are made each year:

  • The first is an award of $1,000 presented in the spring to a U of A resident physician.
  • The second and third awards, each for $500, are presented in the fall to two resident physicians from the U of C.

Applications and nominations


Do you have general questions about the Dr. Marnie Hinton Resident Award for Physician Wellness? Contact PFSP@albertadoctors.org for more information.

Award recipients

Alberta Medical Association Mission: Advocate for and support Alberta physicians. Strengthen their leadership in the provision of sustainable quality care.