About the Canadian Medical Association (CMA)

In this section, find out about the CMA's vision, mission and what it does for members, and link to the CMA’s provincial and territorial divisions.


A healthy population and a vibrant medical profession.


To serve and unite the physicians of Canada and be the national advocate, in partnership with the people of Canada, for the highest standards of health and health care.

What does the CMA do?

The CMA:

  • Advocates for health promotion and disease/accident prevention policies and strategies.
  • Advocates for access to quality health care.
  • Facilitates change within the medical profession.
  • Provides leadership and guidance to physicians to help them influence, manage and adapt to changes in health care delivery.

The CMA’s provincial and territorial divisions

The CMA comprises 12 provincial and territorial divisions and 42 affiliated medical organizations.

Aside from the AMA, the provincial and territorial divisions include:

The Alberta Medical Association stands as an advocate for its physician members, providing leadership & support for their role in the provision of quality health care.