PCN Governance Framework

Primary Care Network member physicians overwhelmingly voted to ratify the PCN Framework in June 2017. The Alberta Medical Association, Alberta Health Services and Alberta Health are working together to implement the new governance structure that includes a Provincial PCN Committee and five Zone PCN Committees. The 42 individual PCNs will continue to exist and will maintain grant agreements with Alberta Health.

The Provincial PCN Committee will provide governance, leadership and strategic directions and priorities for the PCNs. This committee will strengthen the relationship between PCNs and AHS, better align PCN services with community population health needs and transform Alberta's Primary Heath Care system.

PCN Zone Committees will be established that align with current AHS zones. Zone Committees will develop zone-wide service plans to align PCN services with population health needs and with Provincial PCN Committee's strategic advice and priorities.

Want to learn more about PCN Governance?

Visit theĀ Government of Alberta website for more information.

Alberta Medical Association Mission: Advocate for and support Alberta physicians. Strengthen their leadership in the provision of sustainable quality care.