AMA Award for Compassionate Service

The AMA Award for Compassionate Service honors a physician who is an AMA member and, during his/her career, has demonstrated outstanding compassion, philanthropy and/or volunteerism to improve the state of the community in which he or she is giving back. View recent recipients and honorable mentions

Compassionate service is viewed as 

  • Demonstrating a significant and extraordinary contribution to volunteer or philanthropic efforts.
  • Enhancing the reputation of physicians as compassionate members of the community by giving back locally, nationally or internationally.
  • Going outside of one's normal duties and practices to care for others who would otherwise not receive care or support.

Click to read further criteria for this award.

Deadline for nominations

Please submit nominations for the 2018 Award for Compassionate Service before February 1, 2018.


Please submit the following to the Chair of the AMA Committee on Achievement Awards, c/o Janice Meredith, AMA Public Affairs, via email to

  • A completed nomination form (please submit typed as hand-written submissions will not be accepted).
  • A letter of support.
  • The nominee’s curriculum vitae.

Alternatively, you may fax the documents to the attention of Ms Meredith at 780.482.5445.

Read this year's Awards program.

Recent recipients and honorable mentions 

2017 recipients

2016 recipient

2015 recipient

The AMA advances patient-centered, quality care by advocating for and supporting physician leadership and wellness.