CMA Special Awards

Dr. Christine Molnar, 2017 CMA Honorary Membership recipient and Dr. Laurent Marcoux, CMA President, 2017-18

Do you know someone who has helped to raise the standards of health care delivery or medical practice in Canada? Nominate them for a Canadian Medical Association (CMA) special award.


Deadline for nominations

  • Nominations must be submitted by November 30 of each year.


Ten awards are given annually, recognizing the dedication, successes and talents of Canadian men and women who have made significant contributions in a number of areas:

  • Owen Adams Award of Honour
  • Medal of Service
  • May Cohen Award for Women Mentors
  • Sir Charles Tupper Award for Political Action
  • F.N.G. Starr Award
  • Award for Young Leaders (Student, Resident and Early Career Physician categories)
  • Dr. William Marsden Award in Medical Ethics
  • John McCrae Memorial Medal

The CMA Committee on Archives and Awards meets in January to review nominations and make recommendations to the Board of Directors. Nominators of those not selected will be contacted in April and encouraged to resubmit the name of their candidate for consideration the following year.

Visit the CMA website for award criteria and nomination forms

Recent recipients





Featured Items

The Alberta Medical Association stands as an advocate for its physician members, providing leadership & support for their role in the provision of quality health care.