AMA Award for Compassionate Service

Dr. Vincent I.O. Agyapong, 2019 recipient of AMA Award for Compassionate Service

The AMA Award for Compassionate Service honors a physician who is an AMA member and, during their career, has demonstrated outstanding compassion, philanthropy and/or volunteerism to improve the state of the community in which they are giving back.

Compassionate service is viewed as 

  • Demonstrating a significant and extraordinary contribution to volunteer or philanthropic efforts.
  • Enhancing the reputation of physicians as compassionate members of the community by giving back locally, nationally or internationally.
  • Going outside of one's normal duties and practices to care for others who would otherwise not receive care or support.

Read further criteria for this award. View past recipients.

Please submit nominations for the 2022 Award for Compassionate Service before May 15.


Please submit the following to the Chair of the AMA Committee on Achievement Awards, c/o Debbie Kuss, AMA Public Affairs, via email to

  • A completed nomination form (please submit typed as hand-written submissions will not be accepted).
  • A letter of support.
  • The nominee’s curriculum vitae.

Deadline for nominations is May 15.

Recent recipients


2020 - Special Commendation


The AMA advances patient-centered, quality care by advocating for and supporting physician leadership and wellness.