Dr. Michael Tarrant Scholarship

It's all about rural medicine

Are you doing a third-year clerkship in 2024 through the University of Alberta or the University of Calgary? Do you have a particular interest in pursuing studies and career development in rural medicine? If so, you can apply now for the Tarrant Scholarship!

The Tarrant Scholarship provides funds for selected third-year medical students from the U of A and U of C who demonstrate a strong interest in developing their career in rural medicine. It is bestowed each year by the Alberta Medical Association’s Section of Rural Medicine.

Honoring Dr. Michael Tarrant

Established in 2004, the scholarship honors the late Dr. Michael Tarrant, a family physician and champion of rural medical undergraduate education and the development of physicians dedicated to delivering health care in rural Alberta.

You’re eligible to apply if:

  • As of September 2024, you are enrolled in your third-year clerkship at the University of Alberta or University of Calgary.
  • You are keenly interested in building a career in rural medicine in Alberta.
  • You have a strong connection to rural Alberta or another rural area.
  • You demonstrate a dedication to rural medicine in your undergraduate work.
  • You demonstrate a financial need (considered after the above criteria are assessed).

If you have any questions or would like more information, please email: RuralMedicine@albertadoctors.org.

The application deadline is June 1, 2024.  Apply today! Download the 2024 application form.

Scholarship recipients





Featured Items

Alberta Medical Association Mission: Advocate for and support Alberta physicians. Strengthen their leadership in the provision of sustainable quality care.