TD Insurance Meloche Monnex/AMA Scholarship

The TD Insurance Meloche Monnex/Alberta Medical Association Scholarship was established to help physicians meet Alberta's changing medical needs.

Every May, the AMA and TD Meloche Monnex team up to award four physicians with a $7,500 scholarship.


  • Four scholarships of $7,500

Deadline for applications

Applications are due March 31. Download the application form.


Must be an AMA member physician who: 

  • Has enrolled and been accepted in a program, which must be supplementary to completion of a Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada or College of Family Physicians of Canada certification program or
  • Is in established practice and wishes supplemental training.
  • The clinical program must be at least three months in length in a recognized educational institution.
  • Majority of the term of the program should occur within the relevant AMA fiscal year (Oct 1, 2023 – Sept 30, 2024) for which the scholarship is awarded.

Priority will be given to a physician seeking additional training in a clinical area of recognized need in Alberta.

For more information about the award, please contact:

Debbie Kuss
Administrative Assistant, Digital & Team Support
Public Affairs, Alberta Medical Association

Recent recipients


Dr. Jennifer Purnell

Dr. Jennifer Purnell, Calgary
Foot and Ankle Surgery

Dr. Treena Trustham, Spruce Grove
Care of the Elderly Residency Program

Dr. Ben Wilson

Dr. Ben Wilson, Calgary
MSc. Internal Medicine

Dr. Cole Sugden, Rocky Mountain House
CCFP Enhanced Skills in Addiction Medicine


Dr. Adam Amlani

Dr. Adam Amlani, Calgary
Fellowship in Palliative Medicine at the University of Calgary

Dr. Kayla Cyr

Dr. Kayla Cyr, Edmonton
Fellowship in Foot and Ankle Reconstruction and Lower Extremity Trauma Surgery at the University of Ottawa.

Dr. Rajesh Keshvara

Dr. Rajesh Keshvara, Calgary
Fellowship in Adult Congenital Heart Disease Structural Interventional at the University of Toronto.

Dr. Yin Chan

Dr. Yin Chan, Calgary
Fellowship in GI Motility at Cedars Sinai Medical Center, Los Angeles, CA.


Dr. Cameron Elliott, Edmonton, AB
Complex Epilepsy Surgery Fellowship (July 2020 – June 2021)

Dr. Pavandeep Gill

Dr. Pavandeep Gill, Calgary, AB
Clinical Fellowship – Dermatopathology (July 2020 - June 2021)

Dr. Paul Jordaan

Dr. Paul Jordaan, High Level, AB
Family Physician Anesthesiology Program (July 2020 – June 2021)

Dr. Michael Wang

Dr. Michael Wang, Edmonton, AB
Fellowship in Radiation Oncology (July 2020 – June 2021)

Featured Items

The AMA advances patient-centered, quality care by advocating for and supporting physician leadership and wellness.