Family Medicine

The Section of Family Medicine's mission is to help general practitioners:

  • Achieve and maintain economic well-being.
  • Provide quality care.
  • Enjoy quality of life.

Find a list of section executive members and important section-related information below.

Section executive members


  • Dr. Craig Hodgson, Whitecourt

Past President 

  • vacant


  • Dr. Fredrykka Rinaldi, Medicine Hat


  • Dr. Jeffrey Bratvold, Medicine Hat
  • Dr. Jon Hilner, St. Albert
  • Dr. Darryl LaBuick, St. Albert
  • Dr. Edward Aasman, Rocky Mountain House (ex-officio member)

Other Representatives


Representative Forum Delegates

  • Dr. Jane Ballantine, Calgary
  • Dr. Magali Benard, Westlock
  • Dr. Jeffrey Bratvold, Medicine Hat
  • Dr. Wayne Chang, Calgary
  • Dr. Jon Hilner, St. Albert
  • Dr. Rabiya Jalil, Calgary
  • Dr. Darryl LaBuick, St. Albert
  • Dr. Usha Maharaj, Sherwood Park
  • Dr. Maeve O'Beirne, Calgary
  • Dr. Randall Sargent, Canmore
  • Dr. Serena Siow, Calgary
  • Dr. Mukarram Zaidi, Calgary

Fees Representative

  • Dr. Craig Hodgson, Whitecourt

PCN Physician Leads Executive

  • Dr. Justin Balko, Edmonton
    (ex-officio member)


SFM Bulletin

SFM Executive's regular update on important issues and work related to the Section of Family Medicine and Alberta's family physicians in general.

Section information

(News, opportunities, events, AGM date. etc.)

Secure information

(Available to active section members only, login required.)

Login help

Locked out? Forgot your password or AMA member? Need help creating an account?

Featured Items

The AMA advances patient-centered, quality care by advocating for and supporting physician leadership and wellness.